Star Wars VII

Star Wars VIIStar Wars VII

Star Wars VII The Force Awakens (also known as Star Wars: Episode VII – The Force Awakens) is a 2015 American epic space opera film directed, co-produced, and co-written by J. J. Abrams. The seventh installment in the main Star Wars film series, it stars Harrison Ford, Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher, Adam Driver, Daisy Ridley, John Boyega, Oscar Isaac, Lupita Nyong’o, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Anthony Daniels, Peter Mayhew, and Max von Sydow. Produced by Lucasfilm and Abrams’ Bad Robot Productions and distributed worldwide by Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures, The Force Awakens is set 30 years after Return of the Jedi; it follows Rey, Finn, and Poe Dameron‘s search for Luke Skywalker and their fight alongside the Resistance, led by veterans of the Rebel Alliance, against Kylo Ren and the First Order, a successor group to the Galactic Empire.

The Force Awakens is the first film in the Star Wars sequel trilogy announced after Disney’s acquisition of Lucasfilm in October 2012. It was produced by Abrams, his longtime collaborator Bryan Burk, and Lucasfilm president Kathleen Kennedy. Abrams and Lawrence Kasdan, co-writer of the original trilogy films The Empire Strikes Back (1980) and Return of the Jedi (1983), rewrote an initial script by Michael Arndt. John Williams, composer for the previous six films, returned to compose its score. Star Wars creator George Lucas served as creative consultant during the film’s early production. Filming began in April 2014 in Abu Dhabi and Iceland, with principal photography also taking place in Ireland and Pinewood Studios in England, and concluded in November 2014. It is the first live-action film in the franchise since Star Wars: Episode III – Revenge of the Sith, released in 2005.

Star Wars VII The Force Awakens was widely anticipated, with Disney backing the film through extensive marketing campaigns.[4][5] It premiered in Los Angeles on December 14, 2015, four days before its release in North America. Star Wars VII The film received widespread praise and broke many box office records, becoming the highest-grossing installment of the franchise, the highest-grossing film in North America, and the third highest grossing film of all time with a worldwide gross of more than $2 billion.[6][7] It received five Academy Award nominations and four British Academy Film Award nominations, where it won Best Special Visual Effects. Two sequels, Episode VIII and Episode IX, are scheduled for 2017 and 2019 respectively.

GBThirty years after the victory of the Rebel Alliance on the second Death Star Star Wars VII ( events described in Episode VI : Return of the Jedi ) , the galaxy is still at war . A new republic was formed , but a sinister organization, the First Order , has risen from the ashes of the Galactic Empire .

Star Wars: The Force Awakens
Theatrical release poster
Directed by J. J. Abrams
Produced by
Written by
Based on Characters
by George Lucas
Music by John Williams
Cinematography Dan Mindel
Edited by
Distributed by Walt Disney Studios
Motion Pictures
Release dates
  • December 14, 2015 (2015-12-14) (Los Angeles premiere)
  • December 18, 2015 (2015-12-18) (United States)
Running time
136 minutes[1]
Country United States
Language English
  • $306 million (gross)[2]
  • $245 million (net)[3]
Box office $2.066 billion[3]